Gary Coleman dies aged 42

Former child TV star Gary Coleman has died at the age of 42. He was admitted to hospital with a brain haemorrhage caused by a fall.
The actor, best known for playing Arnold Jackson on Diff’rent Strokes in the 1980s, was admitted to Utah’s Provo hospital on Wednesday.
 
His family said his condition worsened on Thursday and that he slipped into unconsciousness.

Gary Coleman had lived in Utah since 2005, when he starred in the movie Church Ball, a comedy based on basketball leagues formed by members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
 
He met his wife, Shannon Price, on the film set and married her in 2007.
 
Gary Coleman’s other TV roles included a stint in the popular sci-fi series Buck Rogers in the 25th Century starring Gil Gerard and guest roles on the likes of The Fresh Prince of Bel Air and Married With Children.
 
His death marks another sad chapter with regard to the Diff’rent Strokes cast. His co-star Todd Bridges (Willis Jackson) was abused as a child by a friend of his family; his career was stunted by frequent drug incidents.
 
Dana Plato, who played Kimberly Drummond, committed suicide via a pill overdose in 1999. On a related note, her son Tyler Lambert fatally shot himself in May 2010.
 
After Diff’rent Strokes was cancelled in 1986, Gary Coleman’s acting career never again reached the heights he’d once enjoyed. However, he was rarely out of the public eye thanks to a very colourful private life that included suing his parents over misappropriation of his trust fund, running for governor of California and various run-ins with the law.
 
He’ll be remembered as a very fine child star – one of a kind.
 
  • Share your memories of Gary Coleman by leaving a comment.
 
 

Share It

 del.icio.us   Digg   Facebook   Google 
 Live Spaces   MySpace   Newsvine   Reddit 
 StumbleUpon   Technorati   Twitter   Yahoo! My Web 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Gary Coleman dies aged 42

  1. mary says:

    It\’s sad when someone loses a life like this,I remember the programme he was in I use to watch it was funny and he was hilarious.So R.I.P. Gary Coleman.

  2. IAIN says:

    what u talkin bout willis

  3. Jane says:

    Sad news for us of the age that use to watch Gary on T.V in "Diff\’rent Strokes"…R.I.P…

  4. Phil says:

    For me Mr Coleman brightened my telly back in the day that churbic cheeky face and kickass oneliners. Cheers Gary may U keep heavan laughing.

  5. Unknown says:

    OMG, shocked at this news. I have found memories of watching this with my sister, I used to love it as a kid! "What you talknig about Willis" It was only when i watched it as an adult I could see the message of each episode!!

  6. Kev says:

    What u talking about Willis ?

  7. Unknown says:

    R.I.P gary thanks for all the memory\’s always enjoyed different strokes as a child what you talkin bout wills

  8. N says:

    RIP, bad things happen to good people.

  9. Chloe says:

    i am very sorry to learn of the untimely death of Gary Coleman…i remember Diff\’rent Strokes very well from my youth, and have fond memories, sadly another great thing from my childhood is gone…my sympathy to Gary\’s family and friends

  10. Janine says:

    R.I.P Gary. Both me and my sister loved watching you in different strokes and my sister did a brill impression of you. I will always have great memories of watching you. So so sad now. Godbless you. and god blesss your family. xxxx Love Janine and Yvette Goodwin. England. xxxx

  11. paul says:

    very sad of this news of gary, my two sisters and i enjoyed watching different strokes as childs and he always brought laughter and smiles to our faces, a very talented young man he was.

  12. Karen says:

    i was a big follower of Diff\’rent Strokes when i was a kid, & to hear of all the children from Diff\’rent Strokes lost there fight for life was a shock, but Gary Coleman was my favourite in Diff\’rent Strokes , was shocked to hear that he past away, my thoughts go out to his wife & familyRIP Gary Coleman

  13. Nathaniel says:

    What! Thats shocking news. May Gary\’s legacy live on.

  14. lyn says:

    I loved Diff,rent Strokes as a youngster…and always looked forward to it on the tv…it was always such a funny show……. im really saddened by todays news….Rest in peace Gary

  15. dennis says:

    How about a rerun of Diffrent Strokes in memory of Gary!

  16. Deirdre says:

    I must say that truthfully Gary lighted up my young life with comedy that was not often seen outside of the whole white genre scene. He was a little treasure & blessing & while in our busy lives we rarely get a moment to think of people like him who brought so much laughter to our lives. May we take a moment & reflect on the fleeting moment that life is & treasure each other while we have the time to do so, i.e., today. May God grant you peace Gary

  17. Bobby says:

    He will be sorely missed

  18. Shoaib says:

    So sad to hear this, he will be remembered globally. I loved the diff strokes show as a youngster, feel like I\’ve lost a part of my memories.. RIP Gary, my thoughts are with your family, and thank you for the moments of joy we shared thanks to your wonderful acting.Mohammad from the UK.

  19. Vince says:

    I used to watch Different Strokes and remember quite enjoying them. It\’s a shame he never went on to match the success he had with that show again. Sad story.

  20. Cartherine says:

    I loved watching Different Strokes it was just such lovely and innocent humour, the diverseity of the the family was wonderful but sadly in the real world it just never took off. Gary was one in a million but sadly people around him used and abused his talent and his money. RIP Gary now nobody can hurt you or those you love. God Bless

  21. Jenny says:

    Penny has gone today, who is next. I do enjoy GMTV but not looking forward to the axe falling on the presenters….as for Adrian Chiles, well doubt I shall bother watching him…boring! Keep Kate and Emma please.

  22. Dioni says:

    HE BROUGHT A MUCH NEEDED SMILE TO ANYONES FACE WHO WATCHED DIFFERENT STROKES.THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR TALENT.SORRY FOR THE REST OF THE WORLD THAT TRIED TO MESS YOU UP,AND GOD BLESS YOU. LIFES GONNA LOOK A WHOLE LOT DIFFERENT FROM UP THERE AND MAYBE YOU CAN BE AT PEACE, AND SEE THOSE THAT HURT YOU FOR WHAT THEY WERE, AND CATCH UP WITH THOSE YOU LOST. A TRAVESTY OF TODAYS MONEY GRABBING WORLD. LATER DUDE R.I.P

  23. Sherry says:

    I can remember when you first hit the small screen in america with your chubby cheeks and cute smile and you always made me laugh. R.I.P … Sherry xx

  24. REGINALD says:

    She was really a true Golden Girl. Great Look\’s, Great personality, Great actress – Something we are short of these days. And have been for a long time.

  25. Elizabeth says:

    Oh thank you Rue. I was only in my thirties when I admired Blanche and now that I\’m approaching my sixties I model myself on her. I\’m well-groomed, feisty and I feel quite normal as a sexy life affirming WOMAN. Jill Lyle

Leave a Reply

