June Mailbag

Regular readers of this blog will know that the first entry of the new month is about looking back. I’ve perused all the feedback and mail sent in during June. Here’s what you’ve been saying…

My feature on Controversial TV Adverts sparked a flurry of e-mails and also comment here on my blog. Some users were astounded by the objections. Ruth Margaret said of the Quorn commercial: "I cannot believe that there have been complaints about this advert! I am 59 years old and think it’s humorous. The way the girl tells her brother off in case he touches her food is so funny. She is fantastic!"

Steve wrote in to say: "Looking at some of the adverts you put on there, it became quite apparent that it was a female writer. Why?  Because some of them mentioned adverts that degraded women but none of the ones that I’ve seen that have been very sexist to men have been mentioned." Steve went on to make a case for male victims of domestic violence. In my defence, my source was The Advertising Standards Authority’s lists of the most complained about adverts. It is therefore a fact that the number of commercials perceived to demean or degrade women far outweigh those perceived to demean or degrade men. Or at least, more Brits wrote in to complain about the former than the latter.
My gender has nothing to do with the adverts featured in the article – I am limited by my source.

Alistair sent me an e-mail and said: "You say the advert for Trident was the first time you’d complained to the TV  standards, well this is the first time I’ve complained to MSN. What is it with ‘faux’? Everything is ‘faux’ from handbags, to wallpaper! What’s wrong with good old-fashioned fake?" Ha, ha Alistair! Loved your observation and sense of humour. I have no idea where this ‘faux’ thing came from but I guess I was being pretentious using it in preference to ‘fake’ which sounds so ordinary in comparison.

(no name) wrote in to big-up my ego: "I found your article on adverts highly amusing; it was a good, well-written piece…but what made me laugh was two things… 1: The pictures rekindled memories of the adverts and I found these funny as I did when I watched the adverts originally…2: The amount of people complaining was hilarious, I am just wondering why people feel the need to complain about things which are intended as jokes? Such as the KFC, Oasis and Pot Noodle… who are these people?" Well (no name), you know what they say: one man’s meat is another man’s poison.

After reading my interview with fired Apprentice candidate Lucinda Ledgerwood, Jeanette wrote in and said: "I have just read the article you wrote and feel I must write (I have never in my life done this before). This interview was the best that I have ever read. You asked really relevant and interesting questions. I am just in a state of shock at being surprised to read something of interest from a reporter. Well done you!" Thank you very much Jeanette, very kind of you.

Thanks for all your comments and messages guys. Keep them coming in. That’s it for this month as far as the mailbag is concerned.

MSN Editor Coops
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

