Remember This Classic TV Advert?

A couple of nights ago, I watched a very old VHS tape (Cheers, Just Good Friends, Channel 4’s Starsky and Hutch Night etc). Up popped some great old adverts that had me squealing in excitement. One in particular is genius: it was a McDonald’s advert (yes, McDonald’s!) for their Indian menu: the Lamb McSpicy (£1.39!), the McChicken Korma Naan, vegetable samosa and pineapple sundae. It cleverly spoofed those old 70s cinema ads for the local curry house. Complete with scratchy audio, bad acting and a 1960s-sounding BBC-accented narrator, it ended: "For curry in a hurry, poppadom to McDonald’s restaurant". Laugh? I nearly wet myself.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to track down a version of this advert on the net and it’ll be a cold day in hell before I get around to uploading it. However, I did find some press about it. Here’s what Campaign’s Karen Yates reported back in 1999:

"Leo Burnett has resurrected the style of 70s low-budget cinema advertising for the launch of the McDonald’s Indian range. Three films, which parody the classic local curry house ad, deliberately use outmoded film techniques to create a dated effect. Each execution begins with a cliched shot of Indian people or beauty spots, such as the Taj Mahal, and goes on to show people in 70s clothing enjoying food at McDonald’s. The script, meanwhile, features some awful puns (‘kormalong to our friendly restaurant’).

The director, Steve Reeves, enhanced the self-conscious and stilted atmosphere of the ads by casting catalogue models rather than actors. He gave deliberately bad directions to the cast and rolled the cameras before calling ‘action’ to enhance the effect. The editor, Adam Spivey, then hand-spliced the film, sometimes using Sellotape, while the dialogue was manipulated by Wave to recreate the typical mono style of degraded sound. Music for the soundtrack was lifted straight from a 60s public information film, and the ads also feature dated typography and end-frames that appear to have been added on at the last minute."

It’s no fun hearing about this advert and not being able to see it, so as a compromise, I instead present Pearl & Dean’s ‘pa-pa, pa-pa’ theme tune and a selection of 1970s cinema ads. Brilliant.

   

Today I am mostly lovin’ – The fact that Bravo has chosen to re-run classic hit The A-Team. I pity da fool who ain’t seen it!

Today I am mostly hatin’ – OK, whose daft idea is it to recreate teen smash Beverly Hills 90210 for the noughties? When will these TV execs learn that sometimes, you’ve got to draw a line under a show and move on.

MSN Editor Coops
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Remember This Classic TV Advert?

  1. Mark says:

    ??? Something I don\’t quite understand about this article.
     
    2nd paragraph starts… "Unfortunately, I have not been able to track down a video version of this advert"
     
    Yet the 1st paragraph starts… "I watched a very old VHS tape".  Going on to say the advert was on this very tape.
     
    If the VHS tape isn\’t a video version of the advert, what is?  Why not upload it from that VHS tape?  Incidentally, I know I have this somewhere but my VHS tapes are packed away on account of being about to move house.

  2. Paul says:

    And just after what you copy & pasted, in the same sentance even, is:and it\’ll be a cold day in hell before I get around to uploading it.In other words, after looking couldn\’t find a video online and doubtful they\’ll ever upload it.

  3. Coops - says:

    (no name) who left a comment here on 18 May at 14:33, apologies. What I meant to say is that I have been unable to track down this advert on the net. As I am a bit of a techno-phobe, I doubt if I\’ll ever get around to uploading the version I have which is on a VHS tape. Hope that\’s clearer.

  4. simon says:

    what bugs me is people ( no name below) who constantly pick up on the smallest of details just to complain that someting doesnt make sense .. we all know what Coops meant when he wrote what he said and it really didnt need you to sift thru it like some sort of internet tecnho Poirot nurd .. What does it matter wether he hasnt written it so you understand it..READ BETWEEN THE LINES .. he spent time to upload Pearl and dean and also some classic ads and doesnt need pullin to pieces coz you cant be ar–ed to just accept and understand what he meant … no wonder you wont put your name to your comments with stupid complaints all the time ….

  5. Coops - says:

    Hello to all!  (no name) who left a comment here on 20 May at 13:47 – thanks for your comment. I\’m so glad you knew what I meant. Just one small thing, you know I\’m female, right? My nickname is rather sexless and my short hair doesn\’t help. But I appreciate you taking the time and effort to write in.   🙂  To (no name) who left a comment here on 20 May at 18:12 – cheers for the link mate! I can\’t believe you found it so quickly. I spent over an hour looking. D\’oh! I\’ve amnended your comment slightly in order to open the ad in another window. Cheers again!Watch the McDonald\’s Advert here
    (no name)20 May 18:12
    (http://cid-5bb4812540ee3078.spaces.live.com/)this is a link for the advert – took me less than 5 minutes to find it:

  6. Mark says:

    Is that Julian Barratt in the McDonald\’s advert???  It certainly looks like Monsoon Moon…

  7. Dhruv says:

    I guess you mean this advert: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=Pbl9h4KEIlgFound it on Youtube…

  8. Lauren says:

    Hang on, the Pearl and Dean theme is still used in my local cinema, along with a warning banning (80\’s-style, huge) mobiles and pagers. It also has clip-art style local ads and only recently just got trailers. Price? £6 minimum. For four screens. The biggest is about 7"x5" with 120 seats (untiered, obviously.) Smallest has about 40 seats. It\’s the only cinema.

  9. Coops - says:

    (no name) loving the sound of your cinema! It sounds like one with personality….

Leave a Reply

