January Mailbag

Regular readers of this blog will know that the first entry of the new month is about looking back. I’ve perused all the feedback and mail sent in during January. Here’s what you’ve been saying…

I had an e-mail from one MSN user with a particular request:
"Can u get Fiona Phillips off the morning programme. I’m sure she has piles as she always sits on one cheek of her bum. She is like Ebenezer sitting there rubbing her hands together."
Mate, I can make the best apple crumble and custard in the world. I can stay awake for 24 hours. I can get a cassette out of my VCR and repair the tape. I can do all that – but I cannot get Fiona Phillips off GMTV. Do what I do – turn the telly over instead.

Another e-mail, another request.
"Hi. Can u find out who that delicious guy is in the ad for Greggs pies? There is something about him when he says ‘Come here!’ and then takes a bite out of that pasty and the car rocks…uuuuummmmmmmmmmmmm. Thanks" 
Ask and ye shall receive. It’s Paddy McGuinness, lately seen in Phoenix Nights with Peter Kay. And as a special treat – you can watch it again….

Ayo wrote in to advise that I’d missed out an ‘L’ in Shilpa Shetty’s name (the person who subbed it has been tut-tutted) in my Has The Big Brother Burst? article. The e-mail continued:
"…your article reflected my very thoughts at that point in time." Thank you very much. We aims to please. And there was more:

"Isn’t it unfortunate that Channel 4 use a whole channel (E4) and it’s plus 1 channel space to churn out repeats of Friends when there is so much back-catalog of incredibly insightful programming which Channel 4 could use it to showcase? And by that, I mean documentaries, magazine shows, drama and soap opera highlights and engaging discussions!" Ayo, it’s all about ratings and advertising revenue. Fact is, some E4 Friends repeats get more ratings than original E4 programming. However, check out their new US import Reaper – very quirky and worth a watch.

Seddy wrote in to ask when Life On Mars sequel Ashes To Ashes starts. I previewed the show in a previous blog entry – catch it on BBC1 starting Thursday Feb 7 at 9pm.

More negative comments about our TV Listings service. I feel your pain – believe me. However, we are determined to iron out the teething problems and ask that you bear with us.

Piglet wrote in to say: "I noticed you caught The Jam playing on EastEnders. I did manage to catch a Jam B-side on Hollyoaks. It was Butterfly Collector, a very dark and melancholy track. It took me right back." Oooooh that’s a good one! Haven’t heard that in ages…must dig out some of my albums. The Enjoy England adverts use The Jam’s English Rose for their campaign – not sure I agree with the song choice. But The Jam still rule. 🙂 

Thanks for all your comments and messages guys. Keep them coming in. That’s it for this month as far as the mailbag is concerned.

MSN Editor Coops
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January Mailbag

  1. Charlotte says:

    I have given up watching tv well most of it a long time ago, ofcourse the tv will not go bust.  The insult of what is being shown, and the brainwashing of the very young and teens is criminal.  Healthy minds are being programmed socialy to become misfits of society.  But then you could not get away with it if a certain system would not allow you to do so.

Leave a Reply

