‘Tis The Season To Watch Telly

In my last entry before the Christmas break, I’m going to highlight a piece I put together on the festive telly picks. I scanned the schedules very carefully – my goodness, it was hard work! Soooo many TV channels now. My earliest UK TV memory (we lived in America when I was very young) was getting up (no remote control then) to turn the TV over to Top Cat….and then my dad came in from work and promptly switched over to the cricket. Grrrrrr! That still rankles. I digress. Point is, there were only three channels back then. Anyway, here’s how it looks…
    
So what will you be watching? I’m a fan of period dramas so I’ll definitely check out the BBC’s latest Austen adaptation, Sense And Sensibility. I love Morecambe and Wise so I’ll sit down in front of their Greatest Moments again. Also, Doctor Who is a must-see; I just hope it can live up to the hype. I used to watch To The Manor Born back in the day and I’m curious to see the one-off.

I’ll also be watching Top Of The Pops, out of habit more than anything else. No doubt the ubiquitous (and annoying) Fearne Cotton will be presenting (sigh) and the line-up will be dominated by bland popsters that pass for music these days (X Factor Winner, Westlife etc). However, there might be a musical respite and with any luck, we’ll have fab contributions from the likes of Amy Winehouse and Take That….one can only hope.

Catherine Tate and Ricky Gervais – yep, I’ll be there. In short, the BBC has got the ratings sewn up. Guys, I couldn’t find a listing for It’s A Wonderful Life. How can this be???!! It isn’t Christmas if that film isn’t on. Other faves are being rolled out again including The Wizard Of Oz, Bugsy Malone, Singing In The Rain, Meet Me In St Louis and Monty Python’s Life Of Brian. Happy Christmas!

Today I am mostly lovin’ – Spooks. Sheer genius.

Today I am mostly hatin’ – The Christmas number one. In years gone by, it belonged to anyone who fancied a go. Now it’s the exclusive domain of the X Factor winner. And that stinks more than a loo that hasn’t been flushed in a year. Bah humbug!

MSN Editor Coops
Don’t miss a trick – Add MSN Reality TV Agent to your IM contacts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘Tis The Season To Watch Telly

  1. Bex says:

    Spooks…..sob.. gone for another year… sob sob … PPPPLLLEASSSSEEEE Give me more spooks!! I need this programme!! They just dont understand…. Im addicted. I need help…. By putting it back on my telly!!!!!

  2. Aleczandra says:

    Sweet song by W (double U)花びらの白い色は 恋人の色
    なつかしい白百合は 恋人の色

    ふるさとの あの人の
    あの人の足もとに咲く 白百合の

    花びらの白い色は 恋人の色

    青空のすんだ色は 初恋の色
    どこまでも美しい 初恋の色
    ふるさとの あの人と
    あの人と肩並べ見た あの時の
    青空の澄んだ色は 初恋の色
    夕やけの赤い色は 想い出の色
    涙でゆれていた 想い出の色
    ふるさとの あの人の
    あの人のうるんでいた ひとみにうつる
    夕やけの赤い色は 想い出の色
    想い出の色
    想い出の色

  3. Amber says:

    Christmas TV usually means to me reruns of old shows, movies that are on 200 times a year and usually not as funny as they think xmas specials, call me a misery and all. Tho I am a fan of TV Burp so cant wait for Harry Hill who says it as it is. I have never watched Its A Wonderful Life in all my years I dont get it? Tho I remember the time a while back where xmas TV meant the Only Fools and Horses special followed by Towering Inferno! Jolly film that

  4. Nikki says:

    Hugh Grant, Ballet Shoes, House & Eastenders and I\’m sorted for the holiday 🙂
     
    I will be actively avoiding the little twerp named Daniel Radcliffe though, he has ruined the HP experience for me! The books were written to help children to love reading, now kids are too busy watching the rubbish acting from this guy in the movies to care 😦

  5. Nikki says:

    & the JK Rowling bit, can\’t forget about that!

  6. Hazel says:

      100% behind your hate xmas no 1.hazy wirral.

  7. Aleczandra says:

    I bet you guys cried at that song that I copied the lyrics down to and I know what it means haaaaaaaaaaaa.

  8. bookworm says:

    im sick of tv. everything is repeats! sky, freeview and most of the crap that gets repeated year in, year out. just so BORING. 

  9. John says:

    So sad that the year end quizzes were dominated by what I call nasty humour: sad thing is the guilty parties on at least two channels are totally capable of being very funny without putting people down or nastiness of any description…. and lets face it if  it is new years eve the kids stay up late and the watershed means nothing….

Leave a Reply

