October Mailbag

 
Regular readers of this blog will know that the first entry of the new month is about looking back. I’ve perused all the feedback and mail sent in during October. Here’s what you’ve been saying…
 
I wrote a feature entitled Ban The Puppets! which prompted some users to write to me. One MSN reader said: "I wonder if they are also your opinions, or just opinions of others you were writing about?" The only view I find myself siding with are concerns about the gibberish language exhibited by The Teletubbies and The Flowerpot Men. Personally, I never do that "Oooooshie-boooooooshie" baby talk stuff to kids. But that’s just me. Decide for youself – here’s a Flowerpot Men clip that will stay with you all day…
 
 
Generally, the editorial I write for the MSN TV channel falls into two categories: opinion pieces and features. One recent example of an opinion piece was my summation of The Sopranos. Another centred around TV’s Most Annoying Personalities. In effect, it’s a rant. But it’s my own personal, purely subjective view of the people who get on my last nerve. Features? Self-explanatory. See the likes of Brits That Are US TV Hits and TV Stars Who Became Movie Stars. Thanks to andythebass for writing in with this "I read through your article on disgraced puppets, however I notice you missed one…..apparently The Clangers were in trouble because some people could work out what they were actually saying….in one particular episode they were actually swearing! (the makers of the programme admitted it was true) Unless of course it was a bit of hype for the programme!" Cheers andythebass, very interesting.
 
As always, an emotional night at the Pride Of Britain Awards. MSN reader Steve wrote in to say: "I just don’t get this article. The link to it was ‘Stars Dazzle at Pride of Britain Awards’. Surely the stars of this event are the brave people who receive awards?" Absolutely. I agree with you 100%. However, at the time the gallery was put together, our picture sources only had images of the stars at the event rather than the people it was created for. I hope you’ll see that I did my best to redress the balance by devoting the bulk of the article to some of the brave deeds of the wonderful recipients.
 
Here in my blog, I’ve had loads of comments about the entry I wrote entitled: Gorilla + Phil Collins Does Not = Chocolate. Check them out for yourself. Suffice it to say, the majority of you think it’s a fab advert. I do too – I just don’t get the connection. There was also a considered response to a throwaway remark I made about John Barnes’ TV presenting skills, or lack thereof.
 
Finally, we’ve received a great deal of negative feedback about our new TV Listings service. Complaints centre around the speed, the look and feel and results returned from searches. I feel your pain – believe me. However, we are determined to iron out the teething problems and ask that you bear with us. 
 
Thanks for all your comments and messages guys. Keep them coming in. That’s it for this month as far as the mailbag is concerned.
 
MSN Editor Coops
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October Mailbag

  1. Joe says:

    \’Mr Editor\’ ….
    While your blog seems to be offering a forum for opinions, it is quite evident that you obviously have your own issues. You don\’t se the essence or link between the Gorilla advert, Phil Collins and Chocolate?? Ever heard of the term \’Abstract\’ ?? Guess not. There doesn\’t have to be a connection…
     
    As for your throwaway remarks about John Barnes (masked with the \’I am black thing\’) , that definitely does not make sense. The chap who submitted a comment – dated 30/10, got it right in one. I too neither care that he is perceived as a good presenter or a bad one.
    He has a job, is making the best of it, and keeps smiling. He does not try to be better than anyone, and at least is keeping busy.Would you rather he were on the street being an alcoholic bum, and maybe a steriotypical role model instead??!
     
    Time to let it rest and focus on real issues. Maybe if you strive for some perfection in your own field you won\’t have to hide behind adjectives and spend your time making \’off the cuff\’ or \’unrepentant\’ comments.  

  2. Coops - says:

    \’Mr Editor\’? Yikes! I take it you\’re being facetious? Either that, Or I\’m not the one requiring glasses. I will not comment on your other remarks as I\’ve addressed them elsewhere. Besides, I disagree with you. And I still think I\’m right. However I will make an observation about this: "Maybe if you strive for some perfection in your own field you won\’t have to hide behind adjectives and spend your time making \’off the cuff\’ or \’unrepentant\’ comments." Maybe I would take you more seriously if you weren\’t hiding behind a pseudonym (no name)…
     

  3. Aleczandra says:

    October was aaaaaaaaaaaaages ago now.

Leave a Reply

