July Mailbag

 
Hello all,
 
I’m really looking forward to more sunshine and episodes of Heroes (in that order), but on the first of the month, my blog entry will be about looking back. I’ve perused all the feedback and mail sent in during July. Here’s what you’ve been saying…
 
First up, Channel 4’s Gay Season. To mark the 40th anniversary of 1967’s Homosexual Reform Act, Channel 4 screened dramas and documentaries revolving around gay issues. I reviewed some of the programmes here, including Clapham Junction and A Very British Scandal. I received the following email from one user:
 
"I was absolutely disgusted by what I saw in Clapham Junction. I had to turn it off. It was a load of rubbish and it seemed to encourage paedophilia. The whole gay thing was just revolting."
 
And here on my blog, I received this comment:
 
"(no name) – Its wrong and you know it god help you all SICK."  
 
With regard to the first comment, I wasn’t entirely happy with the resulting drama either. I outlined my view here. I wouldn’t say, "it was a load of rubbish", but it certainly didn’t live up to expectations. Yes, the storyline revolving around the 14-year-old boy was one of its most controversial elements and it didn’t make for comfortable viewing. I think writer Kevin Elyot set out to be thought-provoking and encourage debate and at the very least, he’s accomplished that. As for the statement about "the gay thing" being "revolting" – it’s a drama about gay people. Nuff said.
 
I have already answered the second comment, but I will repeat what I said again – live and let live. No way am I gonna slate people for their sexual preferences unless it involves rape, children or animals.
 
A feature I put together on the Best US shows ever provoked debate over at the Telly Talk message board. Twenty of Uncle Sam’s finest were showcased including Friends, The Sopranos, Sex And The City, Cheers, Frasier, CSI and Dallas. Some users were quick to point out one particular show they felt I’d wrongly omitted:
 
stubbsy: "Errr… what about Buffy the Vampire Slayer?!?"
Nickolai: "Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Angel should definitely be in there. Buffy had such an influential impact on TV. A lot of shows were spawned as a result."
mytribble: "The above are all correct, not mentioning Buffy the Vampire Slayer is ridiculous. Best television for years and sadly missed. Silly name put a lot of people off but its use of metaphor and symbolism telling stories on many levels set it a cut above most other shows."
 
Guys, that’s the problem with doing these lists. There simply isn’t room for every show. Looking back at my gallery, I’m also kicking myself for missing out M.A.S.H. and if I had to make room for anything, it would be that series first. However, please continue the debate in this thread and show me the error of my ways – as Dr Frasier Crane often said, I’m listening.
 
That’s it for this month as far as the mailbag is concerned; keep your comments, feedback and suggestions coming in.
 
MSN Editor Coops
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

